2018 All-Star Game Announces Schedule, Teams

u.p. football all-star game_1529929293289.png.jpg

Like Local 3 News on Facebook:

MARQUETTE, MI – The U.P. Football All-Star Game has finalized the schedule and players for this year’s event. 2018 marks the 11th anniversary of the U.P. summer football classic. This year, the players selected as all-stars were again drafted by the coaches, just like NFL fantasy football leagues and are either on the Red Team or the Black Team. What started as novelty for the 10th anniversary last year, the draft was very well-received and the coaches wished to have the draft this year as well. 

The draft took place on Saturday, March 18. The coaches from both teams were in attendance and did extensive research of all players, so they could put together the best team possible that fits their offensive and defensive schemes. Having the players “mixed” by the draft means not only will players be competing against traditional rivals from other schools, they might also be competing against players from their own school.

The game will be played in Marquette at the Superior Dome, on Saturday, June 30. Game time is set for 1 PM, with the doors opening at noon. Many activities are planned throughout the week for the players and coaches.

Monday, June 25, the players and coaches check in at Meyland/Magers Hall on NMU campus, and there will be a food drive for the Beacon House food pantry at the check-in location from 10 AM-Noon.

Tuesday evening, June 26, will be the team and individual pictures, as well as media day. Players and coaches will be available for interviews from any media that are present.

Wednesday afternoon, June 27, will be the Players Skills Challenge. The players will compete for the titles of Fastest Man, Strongest Man, Receiver, Quarterback Challenge, Kicking and Punting Challenges.

Thursday, June 28, the players and coaches will be visiting Bay Cliff Health Camp, which has become one of the signature events of All-Star Week. Bay Cliff is a summer camp for children with physical disabilities and the all-star players will spend time with the campers, showing them football drills, and finishing the day by having dinner with the Bay Cliff campers and staff. After dinner, the players join the campers in their traditional flag lowering ceremony at the central square, which ends each day at Bay Cliff and is very special to be a part of.

Friday evening, June 29, is the All-Star Banquet, with the guest speaker to be announced in the next few days. The banquet provides family and friends a chance to connect with the All-Star players after a long week of practice and activities. It is formal for the players, and they must take turns standing in front of everyone, introducing their roommate for the week, and telling everyone some things about their roommate. Players also get recognized for their accomplishments during the Skills Challenge and receive their All-Star Rings.

The U.P. Football All-Star Game will also be donating proceeds to the following U.P. charities: Beacon House, The U.P. Sports Hall of Fame, as well as Westwood and Menominee High Schools. A lottery drawing was performed to select the two schools, and donations will be made directly to the football program of those schools chosen. Each year, new schools will be chosen until all U.P. schools have received benefits from the game. Several other schools (Bark River-Harris, Gogebic, Ontonagon and West Iron County) will also receive donations in the form of All-Star Game equipment, including the practice jerseys and footballs.


First    Last    School                                  First    Last      School

Ryan Arndt Bark River-Harris                    Zack Albright Marquette

Jesus Becerra Stephenson                       Aaron Barnes Hancock (Chassell)

Tyler Blakely Newberry                             Scout Bigger Engadine

Joshua Boulden Norway                          Alec Blank Munising

Ethan Burke Westwood                           Joseph Boik Pickford

David Carlson Newberry                         Connor Bortolini Forest Park

Logan Carroll Escanaba                         Jayce Brockhagen West Iron County

Alex Chouinard Gladstone                      Scott Cooper Houghton

Donald Denofre Ishpeming                     Aaron Corkin Ishpeming

Garrett Dodds Pickford                           David Delayre Westwood       

James Domitrovich Ontonagon              Jared Demeuse Gladstone

Tabin Filizetti Westwood                         Jeff Doboy Stephenson

Wyatt Filkins Marquette                          Liam Gayan Kingsford

Aaron Hainault Lake Linden                   Josh Grassel Escanaba

Mike Hall Bark River-Harris                    Mason Gustafson St. Ignace

Hayden Haslow Escanaba                      Logan Hardwick Rapid River

Grant Hokenson Hancock (Chassell)      Gavin Harris Rapid River

Bryce Hornick Stephenson                      Brandon Henschel West Iron County

Spencer Husbye Gladstone                     Ethan Homola Westwood

Kooper Jahfetson L’Anse                         Darin Johnson Gladstone

Jason Janquart Menominee                    Chase Kreski Kingsford

Kaleb Johanson Brimley                         Jarrett LaCasse Rapid River

Damarius Johnson Rudyard                   John LaMothe Pickford

Daniel Johnson Gwinn                            Ramsey Luft Superior Central

Wade Krysiak Superior Central               Foster Miller L’Anse

Jonah Logan Forest Park                        Connor Ortman Norway

Jared Miller North Dickinson                    Austin Persson West Iron County

Mike Miller North Dickinson                      Eddie Plumley Kingsford

Trey Norris Cedarville                               Jeff Rahilly Newberry

Dante Pedrotti Norway                             Joseph Rietveld Kingsford

Sawyer Perpich Kingsford                        Hunter Riley North Central

Josh Plante Norway                                 Jacob Rivard Menominee

Robert Ponchaud Forest Park                  Zach Robarge Forest Park

Jake Rajala Houghton                              Peter Ropiak Forest Park

Bailey Ribich Gogebic (WM)                    Johnny Schlenvogt Escanaba

Francis Scheid Sault Ste Marie                Jeff Stenson Gladstone

Kyle Seeley Manistique                            Lucas Sundling Rapid River

George Sevarns Newberry                       Neil Tomasoski West Iron County

Preston Strong Kingsford                         Jacob Tucker Iron Mountain

Jon Sturm Kingsford                                 Cooper Twardzik Calumet

Brayden Tomes Gogebic (Bessemer)       Nick Voelker Calumet

Dominic Wagner Lake Linden                   Robby Williams Negaunee

Micah Wilson Norway                                Scout Wunder Escanaba

Jake Witt Ontonagon (ETC)

BLACK TEAM ALL-STAR COACHES      RED TEAM ALL-STAR COACHES                                                                                                                Mike Berutti West Iron County

Al Stenberg Bark River-Harris                   Kevin Leonoff West Iron County

Bob Maycroft Bark River-Harris                 Chris Thomson West Iron County

Kevin Mileski Bark River-Harris                 Chris Soha West Iron County

Scott Syrjala Westwood                             Rae Drake Jr. Bay College

Brad Wiljanen Westwood                           Neil Clapp Escanaba

Luke Gray Westwood                                 Jeff Olson Ishpeming

Mitchell Messing Westwood                       Kevin Grundy Wausau East 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Follow Us


Trending Stories