UPHS-Marquette receives Improvement Award

Local News

Like Local 3 News on Facebook:

In observing National Patient Safety Awareness Week, The Economic Alliance for Michigan, a nonprofit group comprised of Michigan’s largest employers and unions, announces the recipients of the 2019 EAM Hospital Patient Safety Awards.

It recognizes hospitals in Michigan that consistently perform high marks and improvements in patient safety and quality of care. This marks the fourth year for the awards.

Hospitals can achieve two different awards, the Excellence Award and the Improvement Award.

Hospitals receiving the Excellence Award must report to The Leapfrog Group survey for two consecutive years (2017 and 2018) and maintain all “A’s” with Hospital Safety Grade in four consecutive grading terms (Spring 2017, Fall 2017, Spring 2018, Fall 2018).

Hospitals receiving the Improvement Award must report to The Leapfrog Group survey for two consecutive years (2017 and 2018) and show improvement in letter grades for four consecutive grading terms with Hospital Safety Grade (Spring 2017, Fall 2017, Spring 2018, Fall 2018). During the four terms, the grades must not trend backwards year-to-year. The last term grade (Fall 2018) must be at least a “B” to qualify and hospitals must improve by two letter grades during the four terms.

The only hospital in the Upper Peninsula to receive an award was UPHS-Marquette. The institution was given the Improvement Award.

“The EAM is honored to recognize these hospitals striving to make Michigan a safer place to live and work,” said Bret Jackson, president, EAM. “When hospitals make mistakes, it adds cost to the patient’s bill and length to a hospital stay. Improving patient safety will contribute to lower health care costs, which in turn, will help employers create more jobs and higher wages.”

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Follow Us


Trending Stories