LANSING, Mich. (AP) — Michigan drivers who want unlimited personal injury protection benefits will pay $86 a vehicle starting next summer, down from $100 currently.
The fee was mandatory for decades but became optional beginning in July under a change in state law.
The Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association, a state-created nonprofit entity that reimburses auto insurers for medical claims surpassing $580,000, announced the 14% fee reduction Wednesday.
It said the cut to the fee is primarily due to health care cost controls and other changes in the 2019 law enacted by Democratic Gov. Gretchen Whitmer and the Republican-led Legislature.
- Watch: Two officers push unconscious teen driver to safety in ‘miracle’ rescue
- If you received unemployment benefits you could owe taxes
- Biden introduces key members of science team, including pioneering geneticist Eric Lander
- Trump administration carries out 13th and final execution
- Mom says she’s been waiting six months for taste, smell to return after COVID. She’s not alone