Like Local 3 News on Facebook:

The Northern Michigan University Regional Police Academy recently held its graduation ceremony to award 21 recruits certificates of completion.

The academy consisted of 16 weeks of training. Recruits were required to complete a curriculum set forth by the Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards (MCOLES). For more information regarding the NMU Regional Police Academy, call (906) 227-1408. 

Graduates include the following (cities listed alphabetically):


Atlantic Mine: Ben Ruohonen, son of Jay and Dorothy Ruohonen

Brighton: Jack Griggs, son of Cliff and Diane Griggs

Clay Township: Robert Jones, son of Bob and Margret Jones

Davidsburg: Derek Weaver, son of Douglas and Susan Weaver

Escanaba: Sean Corbett, son of Time and Karen Corbett; Darrel L. Hardwick Jr., son of Darrel and Regina Hardwick Sr.; Austin Young, son of Ron and Sandi Young

Felch: Cory Johnson, son of Larry and Rhonda Johnson

Gladstone: Jacob Bianga, son of Marty and Kathy Bianga

Greenville: Zane Weaver, son of Kevin and Amy Weaver

Hancock: Michael Bauman, son of Michael and Judy Bauman

Houghton: Ryan LaBerge, son of Tom LaBerge

Iron Mountain: Brady McDonald, son of John and Dianna McDonald

Kingsford: Teresa Carr, daughter of Tim and Sherry York

Marquette: Jessee Fergin-Kuehnl, son of Earl Fergin and Jamie Kuehnl; John Matt, son of Steve and Shelley Matt

Munising: Patrick Mellon, son of Scott and Karen Mellon

Paris: Austin Wells, son of Dennis and Valerie Wells


Wauconda: Calvin Weeder, son of Eric Weeder


Akron: Ryan Smith, son of Priscilla Carter


Hurley: Anthony Beaudette, son of Debbie Reid and Dennis Beaudette

In the photograph, from Front Row Left-Right: Teresa Carr, Jacob Bianga, Ben Ruohonen, Director Michael Bath, Mr. Elmer Rinehart, John Matt, Ryan Smith, Michael Bauman Second Row Left-Right: Lt. Ken Love, Cory Johnson, Jessee Fergin-Kuehnl, Brady McDonald, Anthony Beaudette, Zane Weaver, Jack Griggs, Robert Jones, Darlene Kyto Back Row Left-Right: Austin Young, Patrick Mellon, Darrel Hardwick, Sean Corbett, Austin Wells, Derek Weaver, Ryan LaBerge, Calvin Weaver