U.P. troopers recognized for outstanding patrol and investigative efforts

Michigan State Police_1538410513964.JPG.jpg

Like Local 3 News on Facebook:

MARQUETTE, MICH. The Michigan State Police has announced that eleven troopers from the Upper Peninsula are recipients of the Cpl. Samuel A. Mapes Criminal Patrol and Investigation Award. They were recognized at a ceremony today in Lansing.

Corporal Mapes, an early pioneer in criminal patrol and investigation, was killed in the line of duty during the prohibition era. The annual award honors the top five percent of troopers in each district for looking “past the traffic stop” to excel in proactive criminal patrol and criminal investigations closed by felony arrests.

The 2018 Col. Sam Mapes Award recipients are:

Tpr. Randy Rovelsky, Negaunee Post

Tpr. Alan Park, Negaunee Post

Tpr. Shane Hauff, Negaunee Post

Tpr. Andrew Peterson, Negaunee Post

Tpr. Eric Farnsworth, Gladstone Post

Tpr. Jay Hills, Hometown Security Team

Tpr. Paul Ferraro, Sault Ste. Marie Post

Tpr. Samuel Ekola, St. Ignace Post

Tpr. Cole Hodge, Iron Mountain Post

Tpr. Alexander Sackmann, Wakefield Post

Tpr. Nichole Dyson, Calumet Post

Each award recipient receives a special service ribbon to wear on their uniform. It includes seven blue stars in honor of Corporal Mapes, who was the the seventh MSP trooper to die in the line of duty.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Follow Us