NMU Releases 2019-2020 Men’s Basketball Schedule

Sports
zep11tmbx0n2au18_1560890944207.jpg

Like Local 3 News on Facebook:

June 18, 2019 
VIEW THE MEN’S BASKETBALL 2019-2020 SEASON SCHEDULE

MARQUETTE, MI   Northern Michigan University has released the 2019-2020 Men’s Basketball schedule which features 13 games inside the Berry Events Center.

The season tips off with the Wildcats taking part in the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference/Great Lakes Valley Conference Challenge on November 9-10, hosted by McKendree University.

The following weekend, the team heads to Minnesota to take on University of Minnesota-Duluth on November 15 and then Southwest Minnesota State University on November 16. November 29-30 sees NMU head to the University of Alaska-Anchorage Classic.

The home schedule gets started Thursday, December 5 with the Wildcats opening GLIAC play with Northwood University. On Saturday, December 7, the team hosts Saginaw Valley State University.

NMU then takes on rival Michigan Technological University Sunday, December 15. The calendar year concludes with NMU taking on Hillsdale College Thursday, December 19 and then Ripon College on Saturday, December 28.

2020 begins in Marquette with the team facing NCAA Tournament qualifier Ashland University Thursday, January 2 and Wayne State University Saturday, January 4.

After a weekend at University of Purdue Northwest and University of Wisconsin-Parkside, the Wildcats welcome Ferris State University to town Thursday, January 16 in a rematch of the GLIAC Tournament that saw NMU beat the Bulldogs 89-73. The team then hosts U.P. foe Lake Superior State University Saturday, January 18.

The Wildcats hit the road for two weekends before returning to host Parkside on Thursday, February 6 and Purdue Northwest Saturday, February 8. After another weekend on the road, NMU concludes the regular season in the Berry for their final three games.

On Thursday, February 20, defending GLIAC Tournament Champion Grand Valley State University visits. Saturday, February 22 will see NMU host defending GLIAC Regular Season Champ Davenport University.

The regular season concludes Thursday, February 27 with rival Michigan Tech on Senior Day.

NMU returns 12 players from a team that has reached back-to-back GLIAC Tournaments and posted 17 wins last year. While the team will look to replace the league’s top two scorers, excitement will be high as they will be under new guidance next season. 

Courtesy: NMU Athletics

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.